IDEA Fitness Instructor of the Year, 2003

One of the greatest honors an instructor can achieve is to be the recipient of the IDEA Fitness Instructor of the Year.

The award criteria includes:

  • Demonstrate strong leadership skills through community and industry involvement
  • Uses his or her superior instructional abilities and influence as an instructor to motivate active and under active people to commit to a healthy lifestyle

Winning this award has been a dream of mine for many years. When I first saw someone win this prestigious award, it never occurred to me that one day I’d be standing up there. I was nominated a couple of times but never followed through, thinking that I had no chance. Then I started to write the essays and felt overwhelmed. It wasn’t till 2002 that I first entered. That year I was a finalist and I felt great about making it that far. It also gave me the confidence to enter again. I look at my award and still scratch my head in wonder, I can hardly believe it’s got my name on it

More than anything, being honored with this award has made me very grateful for all the people who have influenced and encouraged me over the years (and there have been many). I have learnt so much from my piers and continue to do so. People like Jay Blahnik, Douglas Brooks and Candice Copeland-Brooks, Kari Anderson, Petra Kolber, Kathy Smith, Rob Glick, Patrick Goudeau, Carol Scott, Ken Anderson, Sherry Catlin, Lashaun Dale, Claire Dunphy, Mindy Mylrea, Arno Neiman and Tim from Body Bar, Greg Neiderlander, Steve Block from SPRI, and many others.

ECA OBOW Award for Live Achievement, 2008

ECA OBOW Best Female Presenter, 2005

ECA OBOW Best Use of Equipment, 2003

Inductee into the American Fitness Hall of Fame, 2008